Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

As a noob, I had not heard of some of these programs. Others I've seen mentioned are "Russian bear" and "Slingshot" training, which both seem to be on the advanced / more complicated end.

Found some basic info on determining muscle type and whether low or high volume training is a "better" fit:
    "What category do you fall into? You can get an idea by performing what Christian Thibaudeau calls the "80% reps test." Here's how it works: Take 80% of your one rep max on an exercise and perform as many reps as possible with good form. According to Coach Thibaudeau, if you can only perform three reps, then you're extremely fast twitch dominant and need to focus on low reps. If you can perform five to ten reps, then you're also pretty fast twitch dominant and need to stay in that rep range.

However, if you can perform 14 to 21 reps, you're slow twitch dominant and will be better served with higher rep sets. This is very useful info for designing a high volume program (or any program for that matter)."

Practically, it seems that the adaptive nature of muscles requires one to mix up rep ranges periodically to promote new growth. Genetics are one influence in muscle fiber development, but there are apparently things that can be done to promote fast twitch fiber growth and efficiency; a number of discussions are on here, including this one.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by sartac View Post
    As a noob, I had not heard of some of these programs. Others I've seen mentioned are "Russian bear" and "Slingshot" training, which both seem to be on the advanced / more complicated end.

Found some basic info on determining muscle type and whether low or high volume training is a "better" fit: