User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I've been researching Lyme Disease for over two years at a fairly hardcore level for a layperson. What follows is what I currently think to be the best way to set your body up to fight this infection. Bear in mind that this relies heavily on incomplete data, conjecture, and extrapolation. In other words, do not rely on it as gospel.

We'll begin by examining associations between immune responses in Lyme and disease outcomes. I will use primarily human data as I suspect there may be differences in the murine Lyme infection. We'll use this data to form a hypothesis of what an optimal immune response to the infection should look like.

(PMID: 17177959)
    <blockquote><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%">Lyme borreliosis (LB) can, despite adequate antibiotic treatment, develop into a chronic condition with persisting symptoms such as musculoskeletal pain, subjective alteration of cognition and fatigue. The mechanism behind this is unclear, but it has been postulated that an aberrant immunological response might be the cause. In this study we investigated the expression of the T helper 1 (Th1) marker interleukin (IL)-12Rbeta2, the marker for T regulatory cells, forkhead box P3 (FoxP3) and the cytokine profile in patients with a history of chronic LB, subacute LB, previously Borrelia-exposed asymptomatic individuals and healthy controls.